I began juicing Tuesday night with an ABC so that I could try out my Breville Juice Fountain Plus that had arrived that afternoon.  The ABC recipe I used is

  • 1 apple
  • 2 beets
  • 3 carrots (I used 4)
  • 4 cups kale (I also used lettuce from my husband’s garden)
  • 1 piece of ginger

I juiced again Wednesday and Thursday for breakfast with the same recipe.  Now, I’m not a big fan of beets or kale, but I discovered that I was able to drink them much easier than I was if I were eating them.

The problem is that beets turn urine pink!  They also cleanse.  Let’s just say it looked like I was pooping beets.  And then the bad part happened.  10 minutes before my last class of the day ended on Thursday, a bit slipped out.  I told my class I’d be right back and walked as fast as I could down the hall.  E X P L O S I V E !  Needless to say, I made it back to the class to tell them goodbye and left school immediately!

The good news is that the stains came out of my undies and the bit that was on my pants.

For Friday and this morning, I have been without beets, and I’m not complaining.  Yesterday I used up the kale and added a second apple and 4 more carrots to the recipe.  It wasn’t the pretty pink, but I didn’t get a cleanse.  This morning I had no kale or beets, so I used 16 carrots, 2 apples, and a plum I found in the fridge.  Instead of the ginger (which I don’t care much for but it does help the flavor of the juice) I used cinnamon.  That made it taste better.

Drinking lots of water is important, and I think I’ve upped my fluid intake.  I haven’t had soda in a week because 1) if I can go 46 days for Lent and not drink soda I can go off soda completely and 2) I’m a bit afraid of what might happen if I have Diet Coke and the juice in my system.

Leave a Reply

