My Breville Juice Fountain arrived today.  A couple weeks ago, after seeing a friend’s Facebook post aboutFat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, I watched the documentary.  My husband often tells me that I need to eat more fruit and vegetables, and I know that I do, but my likes are limited.  Thus, the juice fountain.

It was waiting at the door when I got home from work.  I unpacked it, played with its assembly, read the directions, looked up a recipe on the internet, and then went to the store.  The husband is conveniently kayaking on the coast, so I had the whole place to myself.  I could take my time making a mess.  

I made an ABC:

  • 1 apple
  • 2 beets
  • 3 carrots (I actually used 4)
  • a piece of ginger (I’ll use less next time)
  • 4 cups of kale (I included all the bits of lettuce my husband has picked from his garden)

The apple made the juice palatable; the ginger (which I don’t like) was a bit strong but gave it a bit of a hint of something that the juice would have needed.  Clean up wasn’t that big of a deal, especially since I didn’t have to do anything but wash the food.  I now have pulp to toss into our compost pile.

Leave a Reply

